The Charlie-Billy Boogie

Musically I inhabit that lonely territory where several genres, none of which are popular with the contemporary masses, converge. I’m talking swing, gypsy swing, western swing, rockabilly, honky-tonk country and death metal…

I had the idea of taking some licks from the 40s – specifically Charlie Christian riffs from his days with the Benny Goodman Orchestra, and some of Django’s ideas –hot-rodding them a little, then seeing how they sound over a modern rockabilly backing.

The results of this lifetime’s work came in at about one minute forty seconds long and can be seen at:

http://www.youtube.com/embed/w-MX26rOpZU

But interestingly – or maybe the word should be surprisingly – I’ve had a lot of nice comments via  email, on various guitar web forums, and on Youtube itself…so maybe this particular cross-roads mightn’t be so lonely after all. Perhaps I’ll even put up a concession stand.

I even added an explanation video that extended my life’s work beyond the half an hour mark:

http://youtu.be/OApuW6E0xik

That’s all!

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment